You are here

database-list

Off-campus access to most library databases and e-journals is available only to current Duke students, faculty, and staff. Use one of the following methods to access these resources from off-campus. To search for a particular database (e.g. JSTOR), use the database finder or the search box below.To browse databases by category, use the drop-down categories below.

 

Show All

Databases

Art & Images        Art & Images Guide

Additional Recommended Databases
List of additional recommended databases.
ArtSTOR
Provides access to a large collection of images covering art, architecture, and archaeology for many time periods and cultures.
ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
Digital repository of images and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
CDRI: Digital Resources for the Study of Religion
The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
Index to Christian Art
A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects.
Society of Biblical Literature Bible Odyssey
Free online Bible encyclopedia created by the Society of Biblical Literature featuring photographs, artworks, videos, essays, maps, timelines, interactive games, multiple texts of the Bible, and the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary (condensed edition).

Biblical Studies        Biblical Studies Guide

ATLA Religion
Provides citations to literature covering all aspects of religion and theology, including Buddhism, Christianity and all its denominations, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and others. It indexes articles from 1949 to present, essays from 1960 to present, and includes indexing to Methodist periodicals from 1818 to present. This database is also available to registered alumni.
Catholic Periodical Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature; 1981 to date.
Ministry Matters
Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers. Titles include New Interpreter's Bible and the Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling.
New Testament Abstracts
A standard work for finding abstracts for articles about the New Testament. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
Old Testament Abstracts
A primary resource of bibliographic information for the study of the Hebrew Bible. Indexes journal articles, books, collected essays and Festschriften; 1978 to date.
Oxford Bibliographies: Biblical Studies
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology.

Black Church Studies        Black Church Guide

Books (Library Catalogs)        

Church History and Historical Studies        Historical Studies Guide

19th Century Collections Online: Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
Provides essential documentary materials that explore religious and philosophical movements in reaction to the dramatic changes in culture and society wrought by the industrial revolution and modernity. Topics covered include positivism and anti-positivism, freethinking, the co-operative movement, alternative Christianities, and the application of the social principles of Christianity to everyday life by a variety of denominations

Church Music and Hymnology        Music Research Guide

General & Interdisciplinary        

Academic Search Complete
Articles, some full text, from scholarly and general-interest publications. Useful for locating very current information and book reviews.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI/ISI)
Part of the Web of Science, indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from 1980 to the present.
Dissertations & Theses Full Text
Formerly known as Dissertation Abstracts, now includes more than 2.4 million entries in all subject areas from around the world. Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637. Nearly one million dissertations and theses are available for download in PDF format.
Francis
Indexes multilingual multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences. Strengths include religion, history of art, psychology and literature (particularly current trends in European and world literature).
JSTOR
A database of archived issues of academic journals. A subset of this database is also available to registered alumni.
LexisNexis
Provides access to a wide range of domestic and international news, business, and legal information sources. The majority of sources are indexed from the early 1990s to present. Especially useful for finding current book reviews appearing in newspapers.
ProQuest
Provides online access to an extensive collection of published material. You can search for information in thousands of different journals, newspapers, and magazines.

Medieval and Classical Studies        

Ministerial Studies        

ATLA Religion
Provides citations to literature covering all aspects of religion and theology, including church ministry, liturgical studies, pastoral care, spirituality, and preaching. This database is also available to registered alumni.
Catholic Periodical Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature; 1981 to date.
Ministry Matters
Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers. Titles include New Interpreter's Bible.
Research in Ministry Online
Indexes and abstracts projects and theses from over 100 Doctor of Ministry (DMin), Doctor of Missiology (DMiss) and Doctor of Educational Ministry (DEdMin) programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).

Pastoral Theology        Pastoral Care Guide

Primary Sources        

19th Century Masterfile
Provides indexing to nineteenth century periodicals, books, newspapers, and government documents. Includes Index to periodical articles in religion, 1890-1899.
African-American Newspapers
Provides the full text of articles from the following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Papers, and The Christian Recorder.
Christian Classics Electronic Library (CCEL)
Digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books.
Digital Barth Collection
Currently features Barth's magnum opus, <i>Die kirchliche Dogmatik</i> and the first 36 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
Contains primary texts, facsimiles, and selected English translations of an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. Includes theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises written by more than 300 Protestant authors.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO reproduces over 125,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in English between 1475 and 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
The complete works of many 18th century authors, women writers of the 18th century and French Revolution collections are included.
Empire Online
British Empire full-text documents from the 15th century to the 20th century. Documents are arranged into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, and Colonialism, c. 1783-1969.
Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
Primary source collection of the records of the Board of Foreign Missions (BFM) of the Presbyterian Church during the nineteenth century. Collection includes: incoming and outgoing correspondence from the mission field, diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale, and field accounts.
Evans Early American Imprint Collection Database
Evans is the most significant collection of titles relating to the history of seventeenth and eighteenth century America, and the Text creation partnership seeks to create enduring digital text editions of the most frequently studied works.
Library of Latin Texts A
Based primarily on the Corpus Christianorum: Series Latina and Continuatio Mediaevalis, this product formerly known as CETEDOC strives to offer a diverse range of Latin works from Antiquity, the Church Fathers, the medieval period and the modern period.
Library of Latin Texts B
As a complementary database to the Series A, Series B takes material directly from existing editions, such as the pre-1980 texts published in the Biblioteca Teubneriana Latina.
Past Masters
Contains classic scholarly editions of the complete works of selected philosophers including Aquinas, Calvin, and Luther's Sermons.
TLG
The database permits full-text searching of almost all Greek texts in critical editions of the original Greek from the 8th century BCE through 1453 CE.
Visual History Archive (SHOAH)
Archive of over 52,000 video testimonies of Jewish survivors, homosexual survivors, Jehovah’s Witness survivors, liberators and liberation witnesses, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, Roma and Sinti survivors (Gypsy), survivors of Eugenics policies, and war crimes trials participants. You must create a username and password to log in to the site.

Reference        

American National Bibliography
Contains information about nearly 18,000 American men and women who are no longer living. Includes photographs.
Biography & Genealogy Index
Indexes current and retrospective biographical reference sources that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Blackwell Reference Online
Full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business.
Brill Online (incl. New Pauly, New Jacoby, and more)
Includes Brill's New Pauly, Der Neue Pauly; the Encyclopaedia of Islam and more.
Chicago Manual of Style
Latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History
Online history of relations between the faiths. It covers the period from 600 to 1500, when encounters took place through the extended Mediterranean basin and were recorded in Syriac, Arabic, Greek, Latin, and other languages.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books.
Encyclopedia Judaica
A searchable version of the 2nd edition. Also searches the Encylopedia of Religion, Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World and Encyclopedia of Bioethics.
Encyclopedia of Islam
A major resource in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, with the online version bringing remote access to over 13,000 articles including two original indices (Index of Proper Names, Index of Subjects) and the Supplement.
Encyclopedia of Religion
A searchable version of the 2nd edition.
Ministry Matters
Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers. Titles include New Interpreter's Bible.
Oxford Biblical Studies
Provides access to six Oxford editions of the Bible, with commentary and annotations from study Bibles combined with reference material and source texts.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Covers topics on life and culture in the Ancient World.
Oxford Handbooks of Religion Online
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO), the home of scholarly research reviews, is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas.
Oxford Reference Online
A searchable collection of Oxford reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions covering a variety of subjects including religion.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Religion Past & Present
Religion Past and Present is an updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion, Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart. It includes the latest developments in research and encompasses a vast range of subjects connected with religious, theological, and biblical studies.
Society of Biblical Literature Bible Odyssey
Free online Bible encyclopedia created by the Society of Biblical Literature featuring photographs, artworks, videos, essays, maps, timelines, interactive games, multiple texts of the Bible, and the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary (condensed edition).
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic, Web-only reference work suitable for professionals and students in the field of philosophy, as well as others interested in authoritative discussions on philosophical topics.

Religion        Religion Guide

ATLA
Provides citations to literature covering all aspects of religion and theology, including Buddhism, Christianity and all its denominations, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and others.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes the scholarly literature on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Catholic Periodical Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature; 1981 to date.
Index Islamicus
Indexes the literature of Islam and Middle Eastern studies from 1906 to date. Books are indexed beginning in 1976; reviews are indexed beginning in 1993.
Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexes Jewish history, activity and thought in English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
This database features a variety of original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York, ranging from a peddler’s certificate signed by Benjamin Franklin, to records of organisations such as the Baron de Hirsch fund, which supported Jewish entrepreneurship all across America from 1819 to the 1980s.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the subject areas of Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islamic Studies, and Renaissance & Reformation.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Encompasses over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, biographies, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion
Part of Oxford Scholarship Online, the subject area Religion provides cross-searchable, fully-indexed access to the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the area of religion.
RAMBI
A selective bibliography of articles published throughout the world in the field of Judaica. Material mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.
Religion Online [Open Access]
Religion online is a major resource for the study of religion, providing full-text, open access to over 6,000 scholarly resources in religion and theology. Founded and moderated by William F. Fore, this resource is one of the most heavily used Internet sites in religion..
Religious & Theological Abstracts
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. Database lists a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions, and provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.

Religion Data & Statistics        Religion & Data Guide

ARDA
Essential access point to quantitative data sets on religion. The site aggregates data from a wide variety of sources, covering all subjects, from congregational statistics to religious profiles for countries worldwide.
Research Guide on Religion Data & Statistics
Guide provides a comprehensive list of religion data & statistics sources.
World Christian Database
Includes detailed information on 9,000 Christian denominations and on religions in every country of the world.

Theological Studies        Theological Studies Guide

ATLA
Provides citations to literature covering all aspects of religion and theology, including Buddhism, Christianity and all its denominations, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and others.
Catholic Periodical Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature; 1981 to date.
Digital Barth Collection
Currently features Barth's magnum opus, Die kirchliche Dogmatik, and the first 36 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings.
Index Theologicus
Formerly known as ZID (Zeitschriften Inaltdienst Theologie), indexes articles published in theological and religious studies periodicals, in festchrift and in congress publications since 1988.
Oxford Handbooks of Religion Online
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO), the home of scholarly research reviews, is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas. The collection of Oxford Handbooks is one of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, containing in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. A recently re-engineered platform and revolutionary changes to the publishing program means, for the first time, all Handbooks will be available online as
Religious & Theological Abstracts
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. Database lists a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions, and provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought (Volume 1: Christianity)
Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.