You are here

subjectguides

Biblical Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Old and New Testament.

Biblical Exegesis (PDF)
A guide for using library resources in completing a exegetical paper.

Historical Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for American Christianity, Church History, and Historical Theology.

Ministerial Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Christian Education, Church Ministry, Liturgical Studies, Pastoral Care, Preaching, Spirituality, Religion and Society.

Parish and Denominational Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Parish and Denominational Studies.

Religious Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Christianity, Judaism, Islam, and Asian Religions.

Theological Studies
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Christian Theology, Christian Ethics, Black Church Studies, and World Christianity.

Other Course & Subject Guides

LibGuides: courseguides and other subject guides
Courseguides developed for specific courses, research guides for specific tools, and other subject guides developed by Duke librarians.

Biblical Commentary from Historic Sources
A research guide containing Scriptural indexes, commentaries, and tools for finding a variety of pre-modern commentaries.

Creation Care Resources
Funded by a grant from Blessed Earth's Seminary Stewardship Alliance, this guide provides links to new resources acquired in the Duke Divinity School Library in the areas of creation care, ecotheology, ecofemenism and poverty, and more.

Data & Statistics
A guide highlighting resources for finding data and statistical resources in religion.

D.Min. Research Guide
A guide designed for students in the D.Min. program. This page has basic guidance for using Duke Library resources. Use the tabs to navigate to course-specific resources.

eBooks
A guide to help you search, read, download, and print from ebook platforms at Duke.

Grad Student Guide to Technology
A guide with links to printing/scanning/copying and tech tools relating to cloud storage, citation management, presentation tools, and mobile apps.

Ethics
A research guide incorporating catalog searches, databases, websites, and reference works for Moral Education and Development, Organizational Ethics, and Civic and Global Ethics.

Image Resources for Biblical Studies
A guide for finding and using biblical images from ARTstor and other websites.

Methodist History Resources (PDF)
Basic resources useful for research in Methodist history.

QR Code Guide to the Reference Collection
A guide to e-reference titles by "Quick Response" (QR) codes.

Random Bibliographies
Short "reading lists" or bibliographies of books and articles on various topics as well as potential search strategies for further research.

Religion in Rubenstein Library Guide
An annotated guide highlighting religious material in the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

Pastoral Care
http://guides.library.duke.edu/pastoralcare

Black Church Resources
http://guides.library.duke.edu/blackchurchresources

Missions and World Christianity
http://guides.library.duke.edu/missionsworldchristianity

Genealogical Resources
http://guides.library.duke.edu/familyhistory

Jewish Studies Materials in the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University
http://guides.library.duke.edu/jewishstudiesrubenstein

Research Help

Finding Book Reviews
Contains information on using appropriate print and electronic sources for finding book reviews.

LC Call Numbers for the Bible (PDF)
All the books and journals in the Divinity School Library are arranged by Call Number. This list will allow you to browse the stacks for a particular book of the Bible.

Out of Print Books (PDF)
Contains information about dealers of theological out-of-print materials as well as search engines, online bookstores, and other guides.